Scholarships for Theatre Majors

Flickr user Viv Lynch

“All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players.”  Any theatre-lover will recognize these famous words from the Bard himself. The history of theatre is a long and illustrious one, and today the tradition is still strong.

Theatre tends to draw passionate people to it, and fortunately there are many scholarships dedicated to helping future thespians pay for their higher education.

Listed below are a few scholarships for theatre majors:

American Theatre Organ Society Scholarship Program

Amount: $1,500

The American Theatre Organ Society Scholarship Program is managed by the American Theatre Organists society and is intended to support amateur organists aged 13-22 who are majoring in theatre. It is intended to support their training under qualified, professional, theater organ teachers and the amount has to be used for this purpose.

Applicants are not considered for the scholarship if they have earned remuneration of more than $1,000 in a calendar year (excluding scholarships and prize money), or if they have put their recordings on sale at any time.

The scholarship amount can be up to $1,500 and is paid to the winner either in $100 increments or upon presenting paid receipts of the bulk amount. They must have been nominated by a professional member, need to agree to feature as an organist in any ATOS convention and submit an essay.

The Archibald Rutledge Scholarship for the Arts

Amount: $2,000

The Archibald Rutledge Scholarship for the Arts is awarded to high school seniors who will be attending an accredited college / university in South Carolina. It is awarded annually to five applicants and the scholarship amount is $2,000 each.

Qualified theater students who wish to apply need to submit a one-act play with a performance time of ten to fifteen minutes. It is meant for students majoring in any of the five major categories- theater, creative writing, dance, music, and visual arts.

The Bob and Marti Fowler Future Theatre Educator Scholarship

Amount: $1,500

The Bob and Marti Fowler Future Theatre Educator Scholarship is awarded and maintained by the Educational Theatre Association. The scholarship amount is $1,500, which will be donated directly to the college and will be used for tuition and fees for enrollment. It is awarded annually to a college student who displays outstanding talent in the field of theatre and shows strong moral character, leadership abilities organizational skills, promise, and experience in different forms of theater and good academic standing.

Applicants need to be residents and citizens of the United States and must be pursuing a theater degree full-time at an accredited U.S. college or university. They also need to complete the Academic Works General and Student Conditional Application, which includes high school transcripts, an essay detailing why the applicant deserves the scholarship and a letter from the troupe director along with a questionnaire prepared by the association.

The Educational Theatre Association Board of Directors Scholarship

Amount: $1,000

The Educational Theatre Association Board of Directors Scholarship was instituted in honor of the past and current members of the EdTA Board of Directors, along with donations made by them. It is an annual scholarship which is worth $1,000 towards tuition and fees, payable to directly to the college / university of the candidate. It is open for undergraduate students who are sophomores, juniors or seniors in an accredited US university / college.

To apply, the student must complete the application form which includes a questionnaire, an essay, and letters of recommendation from the troupe leader. Experience of working in a troupe is a must, as is an interest and service in volunteerism and a good academic record.

The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship

Amount: $2,500; $500; $250

The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship was instituted by the Late Irene Ryan and is managed by the Kennedy Center. The principal scholarship awards an amount of $2,500 to two actors who reach the final round of the competition at the Annual National Festival held in Washington DC.

It was instituted to provide financial assistance to and recognize exceptional acting talents across the country and enable them to pursue an education in theater and its allied arts. The Foundation awards the scholarship to the school selected by the winner towards tuition and fees.

Applicants are evaluated on mastery of expressive vocals, skill with a physical instrument, demonstration of acting range, bold acting choices, a clear understanding of the text and several other nuanced abilities.

In addition to this, there are secondary awards of $500 for each regional representative of KCACTF and one award of $250 for the Best Partner in the national auditions.

The John L. Dales Scholarship Competition

Amount: Varies

The John L. Dales Scholarship Competition was instituted in 1973 in honor of John L. Dales who was the Executive Secretary of the Screen Actors Guild Foundation and played a major role towards increasing compensation for working actors by movie studios.

This scholarship amount varies depending on the skills of the candidates and their needs. The scholarship has awarded more than $7.5 million to over 2,000 members of the SAG–AFTRA Foundation (Screen Actors Guild- American Federation of Television and Radio Artists Foundation) and their dependents.

The recipients of this scholarship need to either be members of the SAG–AFTRA foundation or their dependents, have experience in theater and require further education in theater at an accredited college, university, trade school or vocational school in the United States.

Use College Raptor’s free Student Loan Finder to compare lenders and interest rates side by side.

Related Articles

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *